Medvedev to appoint new Tatarstan President

Ruling Party United Russia has drafted a list of candidates to serve as President of Tatarstan and Russian President Dmitry Medvedev will soon appoint one from the United Russia list.

Upon the recommendation of current Tatarstan President Mintimer Shaimiyev, the list includes Tatarstan Prime Minister Rustam Minnikhanov who many consider the likely front runner. Also on the list for consideration is Tatarstan legislature Speaker Farid Mukhametshin.

Current Tatarstan President Mintimer was elected in 1991 and has served 4 full terms. On Friday he publically announced that he would step down at the end of his fourth term in March.

Tatarstan is a President Republic within the territory of Russia and as such a member of the Russian Federation.