Soviet Union dissolution began on 8 December 1991

Happy anniversary, of sorts.

It was on 8 December 1991 that the presidents of Russia, Ukraine and Belarus signed the Belavezha Accords, which began the dissolution process for the Soviet Union.  That action also established the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).

On 21 December 1991, the representatives of all Soviet republics except Georgia signed the Alma-Ata Protocol confirming the accords. On 25 December 1991, Mikhail Gorbachev resigned as the President of the USSR and declared the office to be extinct, turning power over to the individual states.

On 26 December the Supreme Soviet, the governing body of the Soviet Union, voted to declare itself dissolved